New Testament Church of God is a body of believers, impacting lives through Christ-centered mission and ministry. We are committed to growth – in numbers, in spiritual and personal development, in governance and in our impact on society

Our History

The Church of God has its roots in the Holiness Movement in the latter part of the 19th century in America, out of which the Church of God denomination was born in 1886. It is now established in 180 countries with registered members of over 7 million. The denomination was planted in England in 1953 under the able leadership of the late Dr. Oliver A. Lyseight, who led it for the first twenty five years of its existence…


Today the New Testament Church of God has over 130 branches and missions in most of the major cities of England and Wales, with registered membership of over 11,000 and adherents in excess of 30,000 representing the diversity of cultures in the UK. The Church is served by over 300 credentialed ministers, youth leaders, evangelists and a large number of volunteers who fulfil their respective ministries in the eight departments currently operating in the organisation. In the Gospel according to St. Luke, Jesus said:

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me because He has anointed me to preach the Gospel to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim release to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to set free those who are oppressed, to proclaim the favourable year of the Lord.”

In fulfilment of this mandate, the Church continues to support and provide a range of activities including: senior citizen day care centres, youth ministry, prison chaplaincy, drug counselling, leadership training and development and more. Preaching the Gospel of Jesus, evangelising the nations and making disciples of Jesus is the core of our ministry and we are firmly committed to remain true to our Pentecostal heritage.


The Church has been operating in England and Wales for over 71 years, over which time it has been served by six Administrative Bishops:

Dr Oliver A. Lyseight (1953 – 1978)
Dr Jeremiah McIntyre (1978 – 1984)
Dr Selwyn E. Arnold (1984 – 1994)
Dr Ronaldo O. Brown (1994-2002)
Dr Eric A. Brown (2002 – 2014)
Bishop Donald Bolt (2014 – 2022)

Bishop Claion Grandison (2022 – Present)